Meet a Mom: Pippa

I will admit that I’m a little nosy. Or as I prefer to put it: curious. I love finding out more about what makes people tick and I’m a bit of an eavesdropper. I also love talking to other parents, as that’s where I get my most useful advice, from how to get rid of a dummy to who makes the best birthday cakes in town.

So as an online way of doing that (and because I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about ME ME ME all day), I’m starting a regular column called “Meet a Mom”. Today we meet my stylish friend Pippa and her beautiful boys. Enjoy…

low res 6899Where are you from originally and where do you live now? Tell us a little bit about you and your family. 

I’m from Pietermaritzburg originally. I went to Stellenbosch University and then the States, Canada and the UK for a few years, before moving back to Cape Town and later to Joburg. My parents, sister and her family all now live in Cape Town so I’d like to move back there eventually (as is the plan of many Joburgers I think!).

I’m married to Jono and his entire family is here in Jozi, which is great for my boys as they get to hang out with their cousins, uncles, aunts and grandparents all the time. My first son James turns 3 next week and Benedict (Ben) is 8 weeks tomorrow.

Tell us a little more about your work and what you do.

I work for myself – I’m a personal stylist . It’s a great thing to do as a mom as I can choose my own hours and can fit it in around my kids. But sometimes I wish I had a half-day job where I could just show up and then switch off when I get home. With my job it requires mental gymnastics sometimes to juggle my diary and make things work for both me and the client and their hours. I need to multi-task a lot (as do all moms though!).

I love what I do. I love seeing women take a look at themselves through new eyes and realise that they can actually look amazing and that there are parts of their body that are truly beautiful. I also love clothes and fashion and using them to express a person’s personality and creativity. I love being surrounded by clothes in general, so that’s a bonus!

low res 6477As a busy parent, what are your top lifesavers whether they’re products, activities, websites or people?

My favourite website for advice on dealing with toddlers (and now a baby) is a parenting blog by Janet Lansbury . Her approach completely resonates with me and she gives practical advice that I use daily.

I’m strict about limiting screen time with James, but Bob The Builder DVD is so useful when I’m trying to cook dinner and manage both kids in the early evenings on my own. Lego has also been a great entertainer and it keeps James busy for ages.

I love Oh-Lief and Pure Beginnings for safe and organic bath wash, toothpaste, aqueous cream and toothpaste.

Another life-saver is our Baby Bjorn pouch that my husband and nanny use to carry Ben around – he would sleep all day in that thing if he could.

My wonderful nanny Ntlantla is a major life-saver with both Ben and James as they love her to bits and she has such a calming influence on them.

What do you worry about as a Mom?

Everything! I’m a bit of a worrywart. My main hope for my kids is that I raise them to be emotionally intelligent and to be REAL authentic individuals.

I worry that James will have his heart broken as it’s such a gentle one. I worry that Ben will stop breathing – don’t all moms of tiny babies worry about that though?! I worry that I’m not spending enough time with James now that Ben’s around, and I worry that I’m not relishing my baby Ben enough ‘cos I need to spend time with James!

What do you do for “me time”?

Me time? With an 8 week old hungry baby?! Haha. Generally it’s difficult in Jozi as ideally I’d take a walk on the beach, or have a swim in the sea – that rejuvenates me like nothing else. But I make up for it by meeting with close friends, or chilling in the garden with tea, a biscuit and my Kindle.

Photos by Hugatree Photography

Low res - 1058

2 thoughts on “Meet a Mom: Pippa

  1. Hi Pippa – thanks for sharing your story and for the tip about Janet Lansbury – now following her blog and learning so much already.

  2. Pingback: Meet a Mom: Carla | Making Mountains...

Leave a Reply

