Clever Things Other People Have Written

Although I have all these thought provoking topics floating around in my head, unfortunately I’m currently lacking one essential ingredient required to put them to paper: use of my brain. Because you see, for the last two nights, I’ve been awake from the sociable hours of 2am to 4am, looking after a little boy baby who hasn’t been well.

I think it’s his teeth. Or maybe his ears? As you can see, you never really get better at this parenting thing, you just get a bit more relaxed. He hasn’t got a temperature and he’s still loving his food, he just doesn’t like lying down very much. Which means I’m not getting to lie down very much either.

I think there’s been an improvement but tonight is the big test – wish me luck. In the mean time, while I attempt to reharness the use of my intellect, I thought I’d list some interesting things I’ve been reading over the last few days:

  1. These quotes and “parenting facts” from Amy Poehler and Tina Fey really made me laugh. Especially this one: “Sleep at this point is just a concept, something I’m looking forward to investigating in the future.” (Amy)
  2. This brilliant piece on the death of Philip Seymour Hoffman really made me think. Why do so many famous actors die this way? Or are their deaths just that much more public? I always maintain that a certain level of genius is more of a curse than a blessing. Either way, it was a tragic loss.
  3. Just in case you were already feeling guilty about all the parenting mistakes you are making, HERE ARE SOME MORE. Only kidding, this is actually a really useful article that we all should read. Us parents today are too quick to rescue and we also don’t let our children experience consequences. For example, if you tell your child not to go down that step because they’re going to fall and then they start doing it anyway, then maybe you should just let them fall? (I’m obviously not talking about letting them break limbs or suffer concussion here – but a little bump might actually teach them something)
  4. This video is a powerful reminder that our kids become us. Swearing in traffic at the taxi that cut you off? Shouting in frustration on your phone? They will absorb all of that like a sponge. Hey, we can’t be perfect but we can be aware of what we do and say in front of our children.
  5. This recipe for Fool Proof Stick Blender Mayonnaise is high up on my “to try” lists. If you know me, you will know that I am OBSESSED with mayonnaise and this recipe by one of my favourite foodie bloggers sounds too easy not to attempt.

Talk about variety – that list is a little all over the place, just like my brain. So I’ll leave you with another Amy Poehler quote that very aptly describes me over the past few days. Happy Reading folks!

“Sometimes I forget where I’m driving them to. I just stop in the middle of road and go, ‘Where are we going? How are we in this car? Who am I dropping off? and Where are we going?’ That happens a lot. It’s a lot of forgetful stuff that every mother has to deal with.” 

MjAxMi1kZGZjNmIxNzZlNjdlMDM0

Image from http://www.someecards.com

2 thoughts on “Clever Things Other People Have Written

Leave a Reply

