Over and Out – away until 13 January 2014

I’m currently sitting in my bikini, shorts and flip flops, in weather like this:

Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 3.19.53 PM

And I’m about to go and pack my suitcase for a week we’re going to spend in weather like this:

Screen Shot 2013-12-29 at 3.22.50 PM

I’m completely unprepared. I have ski gear that we borrowed from friends but I tried the pants on yesterday and they are a leeeetle tight. My friend is obviously much thinner than me so I’m going to have to fasten them up with a safety pin. Or not eat any fondue. (Better buy a bulk pack of safety pins at duty-free).

We’re going to London first and I can’t wait. It’s been five years since we left and that city holds so many memories for me. It was where I met the love of my life, where I began a career, where I became an adult.

It was a city of bright lights and late nights and endless summer days in the park. Of tubes and trains and dodgy midnight buses and holidays in Wales and countless music festivals. A city where I used to walk past Trafalgar Square and down The Strand in my new coat and boots, listening to my iPod and heading towards my job at Penguin Books. I had a spring in my step and a smile on my face and I really felt like I was at the centre of the world.

I suppose most of all, that London was a city where I was independent and carefree. I had no children, no husband, I was just me. I wouldn’t give them up for anything but the feeling of having only to look after yourself is an intoxicating one, that feeling of being once again a solitary girl, without responsibilities, without cares. Lighter even.

I’m going to miss my kids something silly but part of me knows how good it will be for us to have a little of that feeling again. I’m going to shop up a storm on the Kings Road, drink ale in cozy pubs, see friends, see family, drink gluhwein, eat some cheeeeeese, fall on my arse a lot (trying to ski) and generally be merry. I’m going to soak up every minute and play in the snow.

I’ll post when I get a chance but in the meantime, enjoy the rest of your holidays and see you in 2014.

xxx

Belinda

(P.S. Brrrrr! A pic with my best friend Angie in London just before we left. And no, we aren’t throwing snowballs in the graveyard, it just happened to be in the background and I only realised later!)

Feb09 007 copy

4 thoughts on “Over and Out – away until 13 January 2014

  1. Oh my goodness, could totally have written the London bits about myself – miss it and those times of my life so much too – enjoy your trip, travel safely!

  2. All the carefree times will come flooding back….what a feeling. Sure you’ll enjoy every moment. Wishing you safe travels and the making of many more amazing memories.

Leave a Reply

