It’s Beginning to Feel a Lot Like Christmas (not really)

Screen Shot 2013-11-01 at 11.52.14 AMGuys, it’s almost Christmas – are you ready? I am not. I’ve bought about 10% of the presents I’ve supposed to have bought, have no idea what we’ll be eating on Christmas Day and have not made one homemade festive craft with my children. World’s most disorganised mother.

First though, can we talk about how pissed off Father Christmas looks in this pic? Not jolly at all. It can’t be that much fun though, can it? All those hysterical children who are terrified of you and those overbearing mothers who want their child to sit still and look pretty, so they can get the perfect shot.

We queued for HOURS to get the above picture (okay maybe just half an hour). And the kids were not bothered either way – it was the parents for some reason who were desperate to get the photo taken. I suppose it’s a parenting rite of passage, something on all of our “to-do” lists.

So, Christmas presents. I’m not a good present giver, in fact I’m pretty rubbish. Although I want Christmas to be fun, I’m quite against spoiling my kids which is why I liked this sentiment on another mommy blog when it comes to Christmas presents: The Four Gift Rule. One thing they want, one thing they need, one thing they wear and one thing they read.

For Rachel I’m thinking Zingo. They have it at school and she always talks about it. It’s basically Bingo for kids but it’s got this cool dispenser they really like playing with, and obviously learning to match up items is really good for them too. But we also want to get her a bicycle with training wheels – she doesn’t have one and I think it will be a good way to encourage her to spend more time outdoors. Hmm.

41724060_0_Img1

In terms of Ben, I really have no idea. He’s only eight months old. He’s more interested in chewing through my laptop cord than anything else. I might get him some “boysey” toys though because the poor guy has been shouldered with many pink items from his sister.

My husband is getting these which he can use on the beach. My Dad and his partner are taken care of, as are my nephews and Norma. So it’s just my in-laws and a few other bits and pieces. As for me? I need a new dressing gown and a new hairdryer (SO rock ‘n roll). Plus that compost heap I keep going on about. Seriously, my life is just TOO exciting.

And when it comes to Christmas lunch we like to keep it simple. A roast leg of lamb, some crispy potatoes and a few delicious salads. With a special cheesecake for dessert. I’m not a fan of turkey (bland, dry) or Christmas puddings (raisins).

Wherever you are in the world, I hope your Christmas planning is going well and that you’re a little more organised than I am.

Yours in mince pies (and pleeeeeease vote for me in the mommy blog thingie if you haven’t already;)

xxx

Belinda

sa-best-mommy-blogger-competition-2013-vote-for-me

Leave a Reply

