Turn Me Over, I’m Done.

As I tweeted earlier today: Turn me over, I’m DONE.

I’ve had it. Enough of people dying. Enough of endless grey days of rain. Enough of schizophrenic interpreters and little babies being raped and Oscar Pistorius shooting his lovely girlfriend and massacres in Kenya and the swimming pool at Nkandla and EVERYTHING ELSE. ENOUGH. There’s been too much craziness and sadness in 2013.

I’ve been tired at the end of previous years but nothing like this before. My mind honestly feels like it cannot concentrate on ONE more hour of work. The cogs and the wheels of this machine or so overused that they’ve basically just put their brakes on and are refusing to turn anymore. My business partner Catherine literally had to cheerlead me on as I sat at my desk today and typed up my last bit of copy, letter by letter – I don’t think I could have finished if I’d been sitting alone.

It’s been quite a stressful year. Having a second child will do that to you. And we’ve had some other stressful things to deal with as a family as well. But at least we’re all healthy and I’m so grateful for that. I’m grateful for many things, but that doesn’t stop me feeling gatvol of this year and all that it’s brought our country and the world.

I’ve got two more days in Joburg and then I’m going to go and lie and stare at this view:

DSCF5757

Then me and my husband are taking a little break and going to spend New Year’s Eve with some old friends here:

63950-640x360-london-icons2-640 (1)

Followed by a few days with my little sister who lives somewhere around here:

whitelionAnd then we’re going to spend a week with some friends here:

chalet-jenna-verbierI’m a lucky girl. And now that all my work is over and I’ve done everything a freelancer needs to do, it’s time to get excited about what is going to be an incredible holiday.

I haven’t been back to the UK since we moved home to SA in 2009 and I just can’t wait. Plus I get to see precious family and friends and mess around in the snow while I pretend to learn how to ski. We’re leaving Rachel and Ben with Gareth’s parents and although I’m nervous about how much I’m going to miss them, I also know that spending time together as just us two is so valuable.

Here’s to sun and swimming and snow and skiing, but mostly to letting go of 2013. Bye now, you won’t be missed.

P.S. Hopefully by now you’ve all voted for me in the mommy blogger competition…thanks guys – only 3 more days before voting closes.

London image source

Knutsford image source

Verbier image source

7 thoughts on “Turn Me Over, I’m Done.

  1. Wow, have fun lucky girl. I couldn’t have left my kids and I’m so glad I didn’t because I divorced my ex and so glad I didn’t give him any more than I did!! Hindsight!! Love England and Scotland – feel so safe there (may be a little deceiving) but boy, I’m envious!!

  2. Sounds like a super time is going to be had. Enjoy every moment and please give my love to Megan. Happy Christmas to you all and may 2014 be a better year for us all. xxxx

Leave a Reply

