10 Things You May Not Know About Me

Belinda Ben copySo this blog is all about sharing and I hope that one day my kids will read it and be able to get some enjoyment out of it. I also hope it gives them some insight into who their Mom was and with that in mind, here are 10 things they (and you) may not know about me:

  1. I have a really (like really) lovely singing voice. I was the head of my school choir and sung a bit at varsity but then like all other talents, if you don’t use it, you get kind of rusty. I also never had the personality or a passion for performing, I’m actually really shy – so unfortunately this will have to be one talent that goes unused:(
  2. I am pretty terrified of flying. My father hasn’t been on a plane for about 20 years, he only goes where he can walk or drive – and I’ll probably end up the same. I love to travel but I hate to fly, which makes things…difficult.
  3. I am very bad at any sport involving balance. Rollerblading, waterskiiing, snowboarding…I’ve tried them all and I’m terrible. I’m really just a big klutz.
  4. When I was growing up I wanted to be a fashion designer. The fashion world is very lucky this never happened because I am also the world’s worst artist/drawer. I once spent about 3 hours in art class trying to paint a blue pot and it still ended up looking like a thick blue circly blob.
  5. I was sent to boarding school at age 6. This happened because we lived on a farm in the middle of nowhere and it was the only way for me to get educated. I never held this against my parents – it was just the way it was (I was actually a weekly boarder so I saw my parents every weekend).  I realise now that this has made me fiercely independent and pretty tough and I’m grateful for that.
  6. My favourite colour is green. Any shade, from olive to forest to lime to emerald, I love its regenerative qualities. It makes me feel peaceful.
  7. I love it when it rains. Growing up on a dusty farm we used to pray for rain. Rain meant food for the animals, which meant money in my Dad’s pockets . I love the expectancy in the air before it comes down, the violence of it during and then the tranquility after.
  8. My favourite flower is the sweet pea. The smell is so evocative of my childhood and I love their sprightly pink and red and purple and white.
  9. I used to be blonde. I spent the first 30 years of my life with fair hair and started highlighting it as a student. After having my first child my hair got so much darker and I just couldn’t be bothered with all the hard work involved. I still don’t know my natural colour but it’s probably lightish brown.
  10. I have a tattoo on my right hip. I got it after my Mom died and it is three lines of poetry that were read at her funeral. Every time I look at it I think of her.
3 thoughts on “10 Things You May Not Know About Me

Leave a Reply

