Mothers’ Day: a day for reflection and celebration

IMG_1762sIt’s always a hard day in our house. A happysad kind of day. A day for being thankful. A day for missing someone. An achey, mixed up kind of day.

This year it’s a double whammy. I’m a new mother again with a tiny baby boy and a strapping toddler girl. Double the love, but double the work. Today I’m keeling over from tiredness, weeping a little from sadness and feeling all those confused emotions mothers feel, whether they’re new to the game or not.

I am in love with my children but I miss my freedom too. Yes Mothers’ Day helps us celebrate one of core roles in society, that we are carers, that we are nurturers, that we are loved and love back in return. But sometimes, we want to throw off the label of “mother” and just be ourselves again…being a “mother” is not the only thing that defines us.

So I’m a new Mom this Mothers’ Day but it’s also a day for missing my own mother. I wish she could have met her newest grandson and had him gaze up into her eyes, as he does into mine. I wish she could have held that tiny hand and tickled that newborn chin. I wish she could have inhaled that new baby scent of him and cradled him in her arms. I wish she could have seen the mother I have become: not perfect in any way, but a mother nonetheless.

Mothers’ Day may have been a day dreamed up by Hallmark but that doesn’t mean that we can’t infuse it with meaning, if we want to. Whether it’s a day for for reflecting, celebrating or questioning, Happy Mothers’ Day to you all.

One thought on “Mothers’ Day: a day for reflection and celebration

Leave a Reply

